Department Blog

BioAg Sciences

Scopus Training on May 12

May 5th, 2010 by Keir Reavie

Are you interested in learning how to use Scopus to analyze the prestige of research publications? Have you heard about the new SNIP and SJR metrics that compare and assess the popularity and impact of journal citations?

The Library invites you to attend a Scopus workshop on May 12th. For your convenience we have scheduled two sessions:

9:30-11:00am — Sacramento Medical Center – Education Building — Room 2205

1:30-3:00pm — UC Davis campus – Shields Library — Library Instruction Lab    (Room 165)

Representatives from the Scopus office will offer an overview of this faculty citation database and present in detail the analytic tools of the database, including the new SNIP and SJR metrics. SNIP (source normalized impact per paper) measures a journal’s contextual citation impact, factoring in the characteristics of the subject field, to include the frequency at which authors cite other papers in their reference lists and the life cycle of a citation’s impact. The SJR indicator factors in the subject field, quality and reputation of a journal and is based on citation weighting schemes and the eigenvector.
We hope that you will be able to join us. The UC trial access to Scopus continues through December 2010. We would appreciate hearing any comments you have about your use of the Scopus and its effectiveness in meeting your needs. An online survey form is accessible at http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/ul/research/trial/#scopus.

For more information about Scopus, please contact your library subject specialist or department heads:

Library Offers Scopus Database Trial

February 18th, 2010 by Keir Reavie

The University of California Libraries has trial access to the Scopus database through December 31, 2010. The library would like to get your feedback on using Scopus, to evaluate the need for this type of resource by faculty, students, and staff.

Scopus provides tools that enable researchers to track citations and follow research trends, and view information on people and institutions doing research related to their own, both here at Davis and around the world. Scopus can be used to develop profiles of research output at universities, institutions, colleges, schools, and departments, for specific years and over time.

Scopus indexes abstracts and provides citation analysis for over 16,500 peer-reviewed journals from more than 5,000 international publishers. It also indexes 350 book series, over 3 million conference papers, 23 million patents issued worldwide, 600 trade publications, and millions of selected web pages. Scopus covers all disciplines.

Please take some time to search Scopus and let us know what you think about it. We are very interested in your feedback, particularly if you also search Web of Science to track citations and follow research trends.

After using Scopus, please provide us with feedback using the library’s online survey.

If you have any questions or would like additional help using Scopus, please contact the BioAg Department.

Impact Factors & Journal Citation Reports

August 17th, 2009 by Ruth Gustafson

ONLINE through UC CDL license: Impact Factors and Journal Rankings

Journal Citation Reports (JCR):  As of late 2008, UC campuses have access to JCR as part of a CDL consortial license.
http://uclibs.org/PID/36787

Thomson Reuters notes that “Journal Citation Reports® offers a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world’s leading journals, with quantifiable, statistical information based on citation data. By compiling articles and cited references, JCR Web helps to measure research influence and impact of research journals and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals.”  JCR is available in Science and Social Sciences editions.

NOTA BENE: Definition of terms, details on how the metrics are calculated, and information on the validity, manipulation, and misuse of Impact Factors are provided at the following Wikipedia entry:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Impact_factor

GETTING STARTED:   The JCR link at the top takes you to the default setting of reviewing SCIENCE journals by broad subject categories.  After clicking SUBMIT, choose your preferred category (you may need to review several in interdisciplinary fields)  and SUBMIT.  Note that the sort order is alphabetic by journal title.  For the most common rankings arrangement,  change the “Sorted by” in the top left to IMPACT FACTOR and click on SORT AGAIN.

CAVEAT:  Review journals typically rank very highly using this method.  It is not unusual for the top ten in a subject category for this type of  ranking to have several review journals listed.

HELP AVAILABLE:  All BioAg library classes on literature searching now include a section on using this new resource. Sign up for a BioAg class at:
http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/instruc/classes/descriptions.php

You may also request an appointment with a BioAg librarian subject specialist by e-mailing bioagquestions@lib.ucdavis.edu or by calling the BioAg Reference Office, Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm at                   (530)752-6196

Don’t know who your BioAg librarian subject specialist is? Consult
http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/bioag/about/meet-staff.php

Environmental Abstracts Database Now Available at UC Davis

August 13th, 2009 by Kathy Stroud

CSA’s Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM) database, a top scientific journal index for researchers in all areas of the environmental sciences, has just added the Environmental Abstracts database. Now, when you search ESPM (online access provided by UC Davis Library), you automatically search Environmental Abstracts as well. You may also choose to search Environmental Abstracts separately.

Beginning in 1975, Environment Abstracts indexes articles on all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. In 1994 the database expanded coverage to energy-related issues. Major areas of coverage now include:

• Air quality
• Bacteriology
• Ecology
• Energy resources
• Hazardous waste
• Industrial hygiene
• Pollution: land, air, water, noise, solid waste, radioactive
• Risk assessment
• Toxicology & toxic emissions
• Waste management
• Water resource issues

More than 950 scientific journals published in the U.S. and abroad are covered as well as conference proceedings, reports, and government publications. Significant monographs, government studies and newsletters are also selectively indexed. Visit the Environment Abstracts information page for more information. As with ESPM, you may use the embedded sfx button to acquire articles of interest that your searches have discovered. Many of these articles are available electronically through Library subscriptions and you can access them from your own desktop.

Email bioagquestions@lib.ucdavis.edu for assistance with searching Environmental Abstracts or any of the other environmental databases the library provides access to. We will be happy to schedule a one-on-one session with you to enhance your searching abilities. We also develop customized instruction for groups.