Department Blog

H/SS & Gov Info Services

Primary Sources for the Study of the Occupation of France, 1939-1945

January 16th, 2015 by Michael Winter

H-Net, a humanities research information network, carried recently an announcement of great interest to scholars working on occupied France and the French during World War II:  EGO 39-45 – War and occupation writings (1939-1945)Sponsored by the French government’s national research agency, the first phase of the project is a catalog of first person accounts, memoirs, autobiographical narratives,  notebooks, and private journals kept by a wide variety of persons during the occupation.  Database records include standard bibliographic descriptions along with fields identifying the libraries where items are held, and where available call numbers or indications of shelf-location. Future plans include links to the fulltext versions of the documents, as they are digitized and added to the online collection.

Problems with Wireless Access to Library Resources?

September 26th, 2014 by

On 9/24/14, Campus IET changed the IP ranges for the campus wireless networks. Unfortunately, the library was not notified in a timely manner. Because library resources are primarily IP-authenticated, individuals using the wireless to access library resources are currently denied access.

While the campus and the library work to get all IP addresses updated from our venders, please note the recommended solutions below. Thanks for your patience.

Short-term solution:

Log-in thru the VPN: https://vpn.lib.ucdavis.edu/dana-na/auth/url_default/welcome.cgi
Use your UCD Login ID and Kerberos passphrase (the same info you use for your UCD email)

This will give you an IP address that should provide access to licensed library resources. If the VPN proves cumbersome see the tip below for Using Google or Google Scholar From the VPN.

Long-term solution:
The library and the California Digital Library have been doing everything possible to get wireless access to library resources restored as quickly as possible. The process of notifying all our vendors is well underway and once they have the updated IP ranges in place, the short term solution of using the VPN while on campus will no longer be necessary. Our vendors need to implement the changes on their end, although we have indicated this is a high priority, we don’t control how long this might take on their end.

Using Google or Google Scholar from the VPN:
Use these steps to easily access Google or Google Scholar from the VPN. Enter the appropriate URL (google.com or scholar.google.com) in the box on the upper right of the VPN Home page (see image below). After entering the URL, click the BROWSE button to the right.

VPN-add-URL-with-google-scholar

Note this works for any URL (e.g., enter sciencemag.org for the journal “Science”).

For additional help with the VPN, see: “How to Use The VPN” (2 minute video)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w7cIDzJ2NYk

New Resources – More!

July 2nd, 2014 by

The following new resources or databases were recently added. They will be included in the list of databases, the Harvest Catalog, and our Subject Guides.

British Periodicals (Proquest; late 17th Century to early 20th Century)

Trench Journals and Unit Magazines (Proquest) WWI Journals

Congressional Research Digital Collection – Congressional Research Service Reports (Proquest; CRS Reports 2004-2010)

Colonial State Papers (Chadwyck-Healy/Proquest)

Twentieth Century Parliamentary Papers

New Resources & Databases!

July 1st, 2014 by

The following new resources have been licensed for UC or UC Davis users.  They will be added to our Subject Guides, the Harvest Catalog and to our list of Databases.

Gale Archival Collections:

Adam Matthew:

Oxford:
Oxford  Guide to the Historical Reception of Augustine

Oxford Handbooks Online – New or renewed