September 25th, 2013 by Cory Craig
ProQuest resources including the databases listed below will be unavailable on Saturday 9/28/13, from 7am to 11am Pacific Time, due to planned maintenance and updates.
ProQuest Databases Unavailable Include These Used in the Physical Sciences & Engineering:
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts
ProQuest Digital Dissertations
September 18th, 2013 by Cory Craig
After updates from Mac (OS X), Java, and Firefox, all in the same week, you may be experiencing trouble with the SciFinder chemistry database. The page below from CalTech, gives tested configurations (working and not working) as of 9/17/2013.
Thanks to Donna Wrublewski at CalTech.
Report any SciFinder problems at UC Davis to Cory Craig (firstname.lastname@example.org) or contact SciFinder Help directly.
January 26th, 2012 by Cory Craig
Some problems have been reported with the use of SciFinder on the Mac OS X Lion (version 10.7) operating system. The nature of the problems can vary. Please contact the CAS Customer Center (http://www.cas.org/support/custcare.html) for solutions.
April 4th, 2011 by Cory Craig
The client version of SciFinder will be discontinued by CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) on June 30, 2011. After that, you will need to use the Web version of SciFinder.
SciFinder Web requires a one-time registration and creation of a username/password. You’ll need to login with this information each time you use SciFinder Web. If you had a SciFinder account at another institution, you will need to re-register with a new username.
1. Go to the UC SciFinder website (http://www.cdlib.org/services/collections/scifinder/index.html) and under “New User?” select Davis (UCD).
2. Review the instructions for creating the username/password, then click the registration link at the end of the page. You must register with your “ucdavis.edu” email account.
3. When you receive your confirmation email (check your spam folder if it’s not in your inbox), click the link in the message to complete the registration.
To login to SciFinder, go to https://scifinder.cas.org/
December 14th, 2010 by Cory Craig
The CrossFire client software which has provided access to access the Beilstein and Gmelin databases will be retired by Elsevier at the end of December 2010.
As of January 1, UC Davis will have access to Reaxys, an entirely web-based application that combines the content of Beilstein, Gmelin and the Patent Chemistry databases into a single search interface. You can preview Reaxys now, although our official access does not begin until January 1, 2011. Off-campus access: text-based searching works via the VPN, currently structure searching is only available from on-campus. Reaxys: http://www.reaxys.com/
Reaxys can run on PCs and Macs, and you only need a plugin if you want to use a structure editor other than the one built into Reaxys (MarvinSketch). You can use Reaxys with IE, Firefox and Safari, and it requires Java Runtime Environment 5.0 or later.
Helpful user guides are at Elsevier’s Reaxys Training Center including Reaxys – Content at a Glance and Reaxys Quick Reference Guide.
August 11th, 2010 by Robert Heyer-Gray
Beginning August 18th, Engineering Village customers subscribing to Compendex will be able to see the Scopus Cited By counts in their Compendex abstracts. EV users will immediately see how many times a particular article has been cited from more than 18,000 titles covered within Scopus. This feature gives users an indicator of scientific value for a particular article. Even if an EV user is not subscribed to Scopus, they will see the cited by count and view the citation lists in Scopus with limited access to other functionalities.
In a search results set, the Cited by link appears to the right of the Abstract, Detailed Abstract and/or Full-Text view. When viewing an abstract, the Cited by information appears to the right of the abstract information, as shown below:
June 17th, 2010 by Robert Heyer-Gray
IEEE Xplore Mobile, which gives users the ability to conveniently perform searches of over two million technical documents with any mobile device connected to the Internet, has officially come out of beta this week.
IEEE Xplore Mobile is still a completely free service.
Try it Today: http://m.ieeexplore.ieee.org
New features include:
Refine basic searches by using the “search within results” feature or
by using subject filters found at the bottom of the results page.
A predictive type-ahead feature, that suggests searches as you type,
All results you would find on the classic IEEE Xplore for abstracts
and citations are displayed ten at a time by relevancy.
Some users at subscribing institutions will be able to access full-text
PDF documents using a Wi-Fi-enabled mobile device. Sign in to the
Wi-Fi at any institution with an active IP authenticated subscription
and receive full-text access, based on the subscription terms.
Read the Full Press Release
May 3rd, 2010 by Karen Andrews
The Library invites you to attend a Scopus training session scheduled for Wednesday, May 12th. Please join us for a presentation offered by Elsevier representatives who will discuss searching the abstract and citation database that covers over 18,000 peer-reviewed journal titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, patents, digital archives, millions of scientific web pages and thousands of “Articles-in-Press”. The trainer will also cover Scopus features that include the Citation Tracker, Journal Analyzer and the SNIP and SJR value metrics.
For your convenience we have scheduled two sessions:
9:30am – 11:00am — Sacramento Medical Center – Education Building — Room 2205
1:30pm – 3:00pm — UC Davis campus – Shields Library — Library Instruction Lab
The University of California has trial access to Scopus through December 2010.
For more information about Scopus, please contact your library subject specialist or department heads Karen Andrews (Physical Sciences & Engineering Library, email@example.com; Keir Reavie (Biological & Agricultural Sciences/Health Sciences Libraries), firstname.lastname@example.org; Myra Appel (Humanities, Social Sciences & Government Information Services Department), email@example.com.